Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to footer

The Curran Block was designed by architect David Marshall and constructed in 1916. The block is named after its proprietor, J.B. Curran. Curran was a hardware merchant who, in addition to the Curran Block, financed the construction of two other neighbouring blocks. Curran’s business, the Brandon Hardware Company Ltd., used to stand on the west side of the Curran Block. Since its construction, the block has been occupied by a number of office and residential suites.

The block is crowned with an elegant cornice featuring dentils, a frieze, and moulding detail. The cornice extends up into a pediment inscribed with the words “Curran Block”. A second moulded cornice embellishes the exterior just above the main level. With four windows on one side and only three on the other, the architect created a unique, unbalanced façade.  

Do you have any stories or comments to share about a heritage property in the City of Brandon? Contact us online.