Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to footer

The Gingerbread-style home at 314 12th Street was built in 1903 for George and Mary Hanley. George Hanley was a partner in the successful auto livery and dealership McLeod & Hanley. Mary lived at the house for another twenty-five years after her husband’s death in 1925. When Mary died in 1950, the house passed into the hands of Mr. William A. Pugh, who had been renting rooms from Mrs. Hanley for a number of years. Pugh worked as the manager of the John Deere Plow Co. Ltd.

The unique design offers a combination of both a saltbox and gambrel roof. The roof is trimmed with flared wide eaves, bargeboard, friezes, and moulding. The exterior features include an enclosed porch and decorative shingle belt. Above the doorway sits a decorative pediment. The windows add a decorative touch with their decorative surrounds, side lights, and stained glass detailing.

Do you have any stories or comments to share about a heritage property in the City of Brandon? Contact us online.