Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to footer


Constructed in 1905, this block was originally built as the Hamilton Provident & Loan Society. It was designed by Hamilton architect Charles Mills, who built numerous Bank of Hamilton branches both in Hamilton and across the prairies. After five years, the bank moved to another address. Other occupants have included the Royal Bank of Canada, physicians Edmison & Elliott, barrister S.H. McKay, and the Mutual Life Assurance Co. of Canada. In 1923, the building became the Crawford Drug Block when it was acquired by Crawford’s Drug Store. The store, run by George N. Crawford, operated at the address for over thirty years.

The block is decorated with moulding, dentils, and brick corbelling around the roofline. Decorative sills surround the windows. Other details include a canopy and wood siding.

Walking Tour

Explore Brandon’s architecturally significant neighbourhoods.

Read More

Photo Gallery

A visual tour of Brandon’s history, in pictures.

Read More

Do you have any stories or comments to share about a heritage property in the City of Brandon? Contact us online.